Skip to main content

Art Circle Public Library: What's Happening

Cumberland County, Tennessee

Hours

Monday               8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Tuesday               8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday         8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Thursday             8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Friday                  8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Saturday             8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Sunday                CLOSED

Telephone

(931) 484-6790  Library

(931) 456-2006  Archives

(931)  484-2350 Public Fax

(931)  707-8956 Business Fax

Address

Art Circle Public Library

3 East Street

Crossville, TN  38555

Library News.......

Library News Article for July 7

The library has added the Global Road Warrior database to its online reference collections. The new library resource contains country guides for each of 175 countries worldwide. Each of the 175 country guides covers 119 topics including culture, banking, business, demographics, education, food, history, holidays and festivals, travel, language, money, points of interest, religion, security, and national symbols. You can access the database by logging onto the library site at www.artcirclelibrary.info  and clicking on the Global Road Warrior link under Quick Links. The Global Road Warrior database was designed for students doing country reports, educators, travelers, and anyone who wants to learn about the world and its diverse cultures.

Great New Books

Rigged: America, Russia, and One Hundred Years of Covert Electoral Interference by David Shimer

Journalist Shimer debuts with a provocative and well-sourced study tracking Russian and U.S. efforts to influence foreign elections from the early 20th century to the present day. Though the history of covert electoral interference began with Soviet leader Vladimir Lenin's efforts to spread communism in the wake of WWI, Shimer writes, both the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. "targeted elections aggressively and frequently" during the Cold War. Russia, however, has escalated its electoral meddling in the internet age, according to Shimer. Shimer makes excellent use of archival research and interviews with U.S. government insiders and intelligence experts.

Her Last Flight by Beatriz Williams

Williams imagines the adventures of a world-famous aviator, who disappears in 1937 during a solo, around-the-world flight, in this engaging tale of courage, intrigue, and adventure. Williams builds irresistible tension with the alternating timelines as the fate of Irene and Sam unfolds with shrewd twists and turns that build to an unexpected jolt.

Why Did I Get a B?: And Other Mysteries We’re Discussing in the Faculty Lounge by Shannon Reed

Reed offers a raw, intimate look at her journey to become a teacher. Initially, she never wanted to teach but eventually realized it was her calling; she's now taught for more than 20 years, at the preschool, middle and high school, and college levels. Juxtaposing personal narratives with humorous vignettes in a variety of forms (lists, dialogs, fables), Reed considers her own biases and discusses the realities, heartbreaks, and pleasures of teaching. The author offers a starkly honest, at times irreverent view of the triumphs and challenges of teaching. Readers will cheer at Reed's accounts of student victories and sigh in exasperation at her descriptions of incompetent administrators.

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager

In the latest thriller from Sager, a woman returns to the house made famous by her father's bestselling horror memoir. Is the place really haunted by evil forces, as her father claimed? Or are there more earthbound-and dangerous-secrets hidden within its walls?

Libraries=Information

With health authorities continuing to urge face-covering in public to curb the spread of COVID-19, we’ve become familiar with minor irritants of wearing masks: chafed ears, foggy glasses, snapped straps. The arrival of summer takes the potential discomfort up a notch, trapping sweat and heat under our facial sheaths. Fortunately, there are ways to stay cool or, at least, cooler while masked up. Here are five tips for more comfortably keeping your respiratory droplets in check. Choose the right fabric: A light, breathable material like cotton will likely keep your face cooler than those made from synthetic materials and prevent contagion. Keep it dry: Cotton traps less air and moisture than standard medical and industrial masks, and it’s more absorbent, but if it gets damp due to breathing and sweating it can be less effective in filtering respiratory particles, not to mention uncomfortable and abrasive to the skin. Try to stay in well-ventilated locations to keep air and vapor mixing. Time trips to beat the heat: Avoid going out at the hottest parts of the day and for extended periods. Skip the Makeup: Heat and perspiration mixed with makeup or oily skin care products makes for a gunky mess under your mask. Lastly bring a spare: If you can’t keep your mask from getting icky and sticky, there’s no better remedy than swapping it for another.

Stingy Schobel Says

Fresh-cut flowers are a simple way to add color and joy inside your home. One easy hack to keep these stems looking alive longer is to use a little mouthwash in the water. Just a few tablespoons of disinfecting mouthwash is enough to keep bacteria from growing inside the vase. Bacteria are known to speed up the decay of cut flowers, so this simple trick can help your arrangement look fresh much longer.

Library Laugh

What do dentists call their x-rays? Tooth pics

Administrative Assistant

Wayne Schobel's picture
Wayne Schobel
Contact:
Art Circle Public Library
3 East Street
Crossville, TN 38555
(931) 484-6790

Website Disclaimer

The Art Circle Public Library provides information and services on the Internet as a benefit and service in furtherance of the library’s mission and vision statements. The Art Circle Public Library makes no representations or warranties about the accuracy or suitability of this information and these services for any purpose.  Although the Art Circle Public Library site may include links providing direct access to other Internet sites, Art Circle Public Library has not participated in the development of those other sites, and does not exert any editorial or other control over those other sites. Art Circle Public Library, therefore, takes no responsibility for the content or information contained on those other sites, and does not exert any editorial or other control over those other sites.